Forums Bugs & issues Norton alerts that is dangerous

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  George Benton 3 weeks, 4 days ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
  • #4215 Reply

    George Benton

    I have been using your free version for several years and just the other day I used the Start listing (Win7) to check my registration information.

    The URL that was associated with the ‘My Registration Account’ option is  Unfortunately Norton pops up with an alert that this is a dangerous site.

    The URL that associated with the ‘Log On to Xecrets’ option is and initiates the same warning from Norton.  The ‘‘ portion of the URL address seems to be the culprit.

    If I use I get to your website with no warnings.

    I just uninstalled AxCrypt and reinstalled a fresh copy (AxCrypt 2.1.1474.0) from your website, but the listing in “all programs” under the Start button is the same except there is no ‘uninstall’ option now, and the URLs as described above are the same.

    Can you offer some clarification and/or let me know what’s going on and if I have some type of corruption problem?

    #4218 Reply


    Hello George,

    Unfortunately we’re pretty helpless when someone like Norton decides to flag our web page.

    Here’s how it works as far as I understand it:

    1 -Someone, for whatever reason, perhaps because they do not understand or because they just like to be annoying, or because they are misunderstanding something flags our page in their Norton program.

    2- Norton accepts this at face value and simply blocks the page, without verifying the information and without taking any form of responsiblity for their actions.

    So, that’s what you’re paying for with Norton ;-)

    The fact of the matter is as follows:

    There is nothing even remotely harmful available at . Full stop. Period. It is a false alert, and it keeps popping up, and every time we report it and then it comes back.

    For what it’s worth, you have all you need both to access the password manager and AxCrypt from the site, which so far has not been flagged.

    As for the ‘uninstall’ thing with AxCrypt 2 – this is now done in the Windows standard way, from the Control Panel.

    The other URL’s are a leftover.  It was the intention that the new installer should remove these, but perhaps you were using a *really* old version of AxCrypt before that?

    The easiest way to get rid of the stuff that did not uninstall properly is to delete it. Or, you can reinstall the old version, and then actually uninstall it.

    Installer technology is really hard to get really right, especially uninstallation of old versions. Sorry for the inconvenience!

    #4247 Reply

    George Benton

    Dear Svante,

    What a complete and impressive reply to my query!  And prompt.

    I’ve been using PCs since the mid 80’s and have never received such a comprehensive response to a problem.

    Thanks for your explanation and putting me back in my comfort zone.

    Best regards,
    George Benton

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
Reply To: Norton alerts that is dangerous
Your information:

Upload Images

Drag & drop, tap, or click