Forums Help & support AxCrypt not in roght click context menu Reply To: AxCrypt not in roght click context menu

#10234 Reply

Garry G. Green

Hello Mr. Svante:

Just intellectually (between you and I), if I compare on my system the number of 64 vs 32 bit softwares (hell, I’ll go count): 12×64 bit; 42×32 bit.  Sure the core applications such as Office can be 64 bit (but even those come with caveats on compatibility) and anything outside of the core – I’d seriously say are 80-85% 32 bit.  There isn’t much s/w out there that truly requires a 64 bit address space.  I’m an expert developer on IBM Mainframes – they too are 64 bit today but not much other than in-memory-data resides there (I’ve never developed for the PC market).

Explorer and friends – I mean as you and I are sure to agree, are file managers.  While dragging icons does seem more fun than cutting/pasting a line mode selection, it does mean having to find open turf on my screen to have both application windows visible to drag – my point is that while Explorer and XYPLORER are both file managers, their user interface is why I prefer one to the other and user interfaces (arguably) are in the eyes of the beholder.  I have always major disliked the file manager that came with Windows – from Win 3.1 onwards.

Apparently XYPLORER is only 32 bit because MS hasn’t decided if (just re-quoting what I read today) if they will make a 64 bit version of Visual Basic which my understanding is what XYPLORER was written in.

So:

1) Yes I understand that there is a limited market for needing a 32 bit shell handler on a 64 bit os – no argument.

2) I’ve never programmed on Windows, so I’ll take you at your word that it wouldn’t be difficult to install the 32 bit handler for W64 along with the 64 bit handler (what is long – a day, a week?)