Forums Help & support Dropbox, Very big mistake Reply To: Dropbox, Very big mistake

#5065 Reply

Svante
Keymaster

Hello Anonymous,

Can you perhaps explain more about this?

It’s important to understand that AxCrypt does not encrypt files in Dropbox. It encrypts files on your local PC, that will be synchronized to Dropbox. So, when you encrypt an existing file on Dropbox, it’s possible to recover the original from Dropbox. This is because Dropbox keeps backups and from the Dropbox point of view, when we encrypt a file in a synchronized folder, this is seen as “Delete the original” + “Create a new file”.

You should be careful to encrypt files in your Dropbox before they are ever synchronized there unencrypted. Once they are synchronized, you are entirely in the control of Dropbox and it’s only at their discretion the original data is ever removed. We can’t do anything about that.