Forums Bugs & issues Files encrypted but not encrypted! Reply To: Files encrypted but not encrypted!

#7889 Reply

Svante
Keymaster

Hello Gary,

Thank you for taking the time!

Before making your final judgement, please consider that we might actually have plan ;-)

Your main gripes are around the fact that things work differently. This does not mean that you can’t do the same tasks as before! Just that it’s easier. I.e. different. Different is not the same as worse.

In order to share encrypted data with others with AxCrypt 1, you had to share passwords, and keep track of them. No more! You can still share securely.

There is no longer any need to share passwords in order to send or share files securely with others. AxCrypt has a key sharing feature letting you add recipients by email address, who when they receive the file can open it with their own AxCrypt password.

Key sharing embeds the shared key into the file. The file must thus first be key shared with the recipient, then sent or file shared. Please note that AxCrypt does not share or send the actual file. To see a quick instructional video explaining how to use key sharing, please view https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9z3KOZD-Yks .

So, you can share your encrypted files with your editors or whomever without the need to have a zillion strong different passwords (if the passwords are just slight variations on each other, or made according to some system, what’s the point of encrypting them in the first place?).

You’re then upset because we do assume that if you’re at your computer you want to work as seamlessly as possible with your encrypted files, instead of entering passwords all the time. Actually, this was always present as an option in AxCrypt 1 – we just made it the standard. This is a different, but better, way to work and keep your files secure. It helps you use a really strong and good password.

AxCrypt 2 works just like your email software or most other password-protected systems. You sign in once, and remain signed in until signed out. Just like you can read many emails without entering the password every time, AxCrypt will do the same. The files are still encrypted, but your password is remembered until you sign out of AxCrypt.

Finally you say that we’ve removed the anonymous rename function. We didn’t. Try right-click, “AxCrypt” | “Rename”.

Some of these functions do require a paid subscription, but after so many years I had two options: let AxCrypt go and abandon it, or try to get some revenue and keep developing. I chose the latter.

I’ve written some longer blog texts on some of these subjects, please feel free to read:

https://www.axcrypt.net/blog/use-of-different-passwords/

https://www.axcrypt.net/blog/leaving-computer-axcrypt/