Forums Help & support Cannot access some files

This topic contains 7 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Svante 6 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Justine

I have been using Axcrypt for many years. All files are in one folder and all have the same password.

I got a new pc so was required to register with Axcrypt which I did successfully and I have an account password which works fine. However when I then try to access my old password protected files I am prompted for a password for SOME but not all files. I have tried using my old password, my new password and all other passwords I have ever known but still I cannot access some files.

Please help.

#8768 Reply

Svante
    Spectator

Hello Justine,

The most likely reason for this is that the files you can’t open now, you couldn’t open before either because they are in fact not encrypted with any of the passwords you’ve tried.

This is easy to demonstrate. First check the “last modified” date of the encrypted files in question. If this is *before* the upgrade to a new PC, they have not changed since.

You can now uninstall AxCrypt 2, re-install AxCrypt 1, and verify that the files in fact do not decrypt using the passwords you expect now either. If you’d like to avoid the inconvenience of uninstalling AxCrypt 2, you can use either AxDecrypt, or AxCrypt2Go which can be downloaded and run independently. All of the legacy version 1 software is available at the legacy web site, http://www.axantum.com/ .

If the above does not clarify the situation, please provide more information and screen shots.

#8802 Reply

Anonymous

Hi,

thanks for your response but I’m afraid it’s not as simples as you’ve described.