Forums Help & support Can't Encrypt Using Password

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Prabhukumar R 3 years, 12 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

GARY

I have been using Axcrypt for many years, always using the same password for encrypt and decrypt.  All of a sudden today, I decrypted some files – no problem.  I viewed them, then tried to encrypted them again with the same password – just like I’ve always done.  Now, all of sudden, it says wrong password.  How can that be when I just used the same password to decrypt it?!  I restarted my computer just to eliminate and “cobwebs,” but the same problem exists.  I can still decrypt fine with the password, but not encrypted.  The right-click dropdown menu indicates that I am signed in because the choice is to sign out.  I already signed out and in again.  I am stumped!

#15617 Reply

Prabhukumar R

Hello GARY,

AxCrypt 2.x use a single sign on model where the same password is used to sign in to our servers and to protect your files.

AxCrypt will use the AxCrypt account password to encrypt/decrypt the files. The account password is used/involved to encrypt the files with the AxCrypt app.

Please explain which version you have use AxCrypt 1.x or AxCrypt2.x?

Do you have reset or change the AxCrypt account password recently?

Please provide detailed information about the issue and write a mail to support@axcrypt.net. We are happy to help you.

#15624 Reply

GARY

I am using AxCrypt 2.1.1585.0

I think I figured out the problem.  When I first encrypted my files, I used one password for files I’m willing to share and another password for files I am NOT willing to share.  The second password is the one I used to sign into AxCrypt and it will encrypt and decrypt any file regardless of the original password I used to secure it.  So that’s working.