Forums Bugs & issues Can't open existing Axcrypt files with latest version of Axcrypt

This topic contains 82 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  EL 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 83 total)
  • Author

Bernie

I am already registered with Axcrypt.

After I installed the latest Axcrypt, free version 2.1.1390.0 64bit, and tried to open my existing Axcrypt files, a message came up saying I have to log in the first time I use Axcrypt.

After I put my email address in, it asks for a password.

I can’t remember if I created a password when I registered, and my encryption password I use to open files doesn’t work.

But why do I need to do this when I’ve been using Axcrypt for many years?  It’s not the first time I’ve used Axcrypt.  I’ve been forced to uninstall the latest Axcrypt and go back to an earlier version to open my files.

Can you please help me on this problem.

Bernie :-(

#3074 Reply

Svante
    Spectator

Hello Bernie!

Sorry for the inconvenience! We’re still fine-tuning the on-boarding process for existing users.

If you have an old account but have forgotten the password, use the “Forgot your password?” link at the lower right on https://account.axcrypt.net/ to reset your password.

Once reset, you can use that to sign in to AxCrypt 2.

We now realize that many old-time AxCrypt users registered with us a long time ago, but since the account has been dormant since then the password is blissfully forgotten.

We’re developing AxCrypt with many new capabilities, and even old-time AxCrypt users will benefit, but it may be a trifle confusing at first.

With both old AxCrypt 1.x and the new AxCrypt 2.x all encryption is done locally, and when all is said and done it’s encrypted with your password, although there are a few layers of indirection involved.