Forums Help & support encryption password vs account password

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Prabhukumar R 4 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Ephraim

I’ve been using AxCrypt for over 10 years. The encryption password I’ve used all that time has not been the same as the password for my AxCrypt account.  I recently upgraded to AxCrypt 2.0. If I understand the website correctly, 2.0 encrypts files with the account password; I assume this means that when I encrypt a new file or re-encrypt an old one that I decrypted with the old encryption password, I’ll have to use the account password.

I’d like to be able to keep using the old encryption password — it’s well-memorized. (The current account password is a hash generated by a password manager, not really memorizable.) Is there a way I can do that, for instance by making my account password the same as my old encryption password? If I do that on the account website, will the installed AxCrypt 2.0 program pick up the change? Or would I have to (1) uninstall AxCrypt 2.0, (2) change the account password, and (3) download and re-install AxCrypt 2.0? Or is there some other approach I can use to keep using my old encryption passwork without changing my account password?

#14563 Reply

Prabhukumar R

Hello Ephraim,

You can change your current AxCrypt account password to the old one(which is used for opening your files), using the change password feature. No need to uninstall and re-install the AxCrypt 2.x.

If you wish to change your AxCrypt account password, please sign in at https://account.axcrypt.net/Home/Login and do so using the ‘Password’ function under the ‘Settings’ menu.

Whenever a file is encrypted, it’s encrypted with a random key. That key, in turn, is encrypted with the user’s password AND with the user’s public key. When the user changes the password on the website, the private key is re-encrypted with the new password.