Forums Community iOS app lacks Open in feature

This topic contains 9 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Svante 6 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

albatros

Hi,

It looks like iOS app can’t send unknown file types to other apps after decryption. It should be done via “Open in”, but this feature is missing. So if AxCrypt can’t read the file then the file is unusable. Right?

If so, is there any plan (or ETA) to add it in the future?

#5883 Reply

albatros

@devs Can you please just tell if you know what I mean?

#5884 Reply

Alfred

I’m not a developer but I know what you mean.

I’m sure the developer will know how to implement this but the process for implementing this in iOS can be found in the programming instructions.

The AxCryp iOS app is still in its infancy. It can’t encrypt files yet and more features will be added when more people pay for Premium.

#5891 Reply

Svante
    Spectator

Hi albatros,

The intention is that the app should give you the choice of apps supporting the file in question. There does need to be an app, the “Open in” functionality only lists apps that support the file in question I think.

If you take the original file (or at least a file of the original type) and send it to your phone, what happens then when you try to open it?

#5898 Reply

albatros

Hi Svante,

It can be done ONLY IF AxCrypt can open the file itself. So if Axcrypt can’t open the file it can’t send through “Open in” to another app.

You can test yourself trying to open a Keepass db file. You’ll see Axcrypt not being capable to open it and no option to “Open in” something else. Normally other filemanager-like apps (i.e. DropBox, Documents by Readdle, iFiles etc.) can perfectly do that. More clear now?

#5899 Reply

Svante
    Spectator

Hi albatros,