Forums Community Is V2's Decryption Process Less Secure than V1?

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Prabhukumar R 4 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Nicholas Mann

Hi,

(Please forgive me if this has been covered already in another thread – I have scrolled through them, but could not see it, specifically.)

I will start by saying I am not a security expert – but I am a very happy, long-term user of AXCrypt V1.7. I have recently been assessing an upgrade to V2, mostly because I would like to be able to use the app to decrypt files stored in my cloud storage, on my phone, and this functionality only seems to be supported by files using V2’s format.

I have ready many of the posts on here about people’s dissatisfaction with V2, and I echo some of their concerns, but I can (probably) live with them. My question however is a little more fundamental than usability concerns, etc..

Put simply, it is that V2 ‘feels’ less secure than V1. This might sound like a naive comment, given that the encryption algorithms in V2 are better and more secure than V1, but hear my out please. As far as the strength of the encryption goes in V2, notwithstanding my earlier disclosure that I am not a security expert, I take will take it on trust that the files, once encrypted, are harder to maliciously decrypt – so that’s great. Tick!

However, in order to decrypt a file in V1, one not only needs a passphrase (as opposed to a password – which in itself suggests less security) but also, and critically in my opinion, one also has the option of needing a key-file. So, you need two things.

In V2, however, as far as I can ascertain, one only needs to know a password. Given that, someone that maliciously gains access to your PC could unlock anything. In some ways V2 might be more user-friendly than V1, but the decryption process ‘feels’ inherently less complex – and that is my issue.