Forums Help & support Looking at upgrading to Version 2

This topic contains 6 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Svante 6 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Art

I have been using Axcrypt Version 1 for about 6 years on a number of laptops and have no complaints. My requirements are simple. All I need is the ability to encrypt and decrypt files and folders.  I’m thinking about purchasing a tablet so I’m now looking at Version 2 software.

Reviewing your website I see that you have made significant changes between Version 1 and 2. Using Version 2, can I continue encrypting/decrypting files and folders? I have no need for using the “cloud” or any of the other features that are available with the new version.

Thank you for a great stable product.

Art

#8735 Reply

Jean-Patrice

I have exactly the same experience and the same question.

Besides, I have tried to install AxCrypt 2, but it was unable to open files encrypted with AxCrypt 1.

In anay case, thanks for your fine software.

#8736 Reply

Svante
    Spectator

Hello,

If you cannot decrypt version 1-encrypted files with version 2, you’re not entering the correct password. AxCrypt version 2 is fully backwards compatible with version 1.

Apart from additions and some changes in terminology and look and feel, AxCrypt 2 is equivalent to AxCrypt 1 – it can encrypt and decrypt files and makes it easy to work with encrypted files.

#8737 Reply

Anonymous

Svante,

Thanks for your reply.

I know that I have to create an account but I don’t see a purpose for doing so.

So if I understand correctly, I can still right click on a file/folder and select Encrypt or Decrypt using Version 2.

One last question.

Since my laptops already have Version 1 installed, I can just upgrade (not uninstall Version 1) to Version 2 without losing my existing encrypted files structure – true?

Thanks again

Art

#8738 Reply

Svante
    Spectator

Hello Anonymous,