I tested AxCrypt by encrypting a batch of photos that were not important. Encryption worked well and fast. But I forgot the password. So I deleted all the encrypted files. Next I went to the recycle bin and marked the deleted files to be restored. All the photos were restored and unencrypted. Is this the way AxCrypt is supposed to work? Doesn’t seem secure if encryption can be broken by simply deleting and restoring?
Actually, AxCrpt, encrypted several folders containing photos. Although it displayed photos as encrypted, it might have only encrypted the folders. And when the folders were deleted and recovered, all of the photos were viewable without password.